Skip to main content
Fidelity Residential home
Doctor and dentist loans

Doctor loans for physicians and dentists: a mortgage built around a medical career.

A doctor loan is a home loan for doctors, dentists and other licensed medical professionals, including residents and fellows. Little or no down payment, no mortgage insurance, student loans in deferment left out of the calculation during training, and the chance to buy on a signed contract before the job starts.

Prefer to talk? Call 732-686-9999

  • Direct, licensed mortgage lender
  • NMLS #103098
  • Equal Housing Lender

What would you like to do?

Pick the one closest to you. A few short questions follow, and a licensed loan officer gets back to you.

Get a quote

Ready for the full application? Apply online

Fidelity Residential · NMLS #103098 · Equal Housing Lender

  • Direct, licensed lenderNMLS #103098. Check our licences on NMLS Consumer Access.
  • A licensed loan officerA real person reviews your file and answers your questions.
  • Built for a medical careerDeferred student loans and a job that has not started yet are both handled.
  • Apply online or by phoneStart a quote, apply online or call 732-686-9999.
The basics

What a doctor loan, or physician mortgage, is

Fidelity Residential offers a home loan designed for doctors, dentists and other licensed medical professionals: physicians (MD and DO), dentists (DDS and DMD), pharmacists (PharmD), veterinarians (VMD), podiatrists (DPM), nurse anesthetists (CRNA) with a doctorate, nurse practitioners (NP) with a master’s or doctorate, and the residents, fellows and interns who hold one of those degrees. It is built around three things that make an early-career clinician hard to fit into an ordinary mortgage: up to 100% financing for qualifying medical professionals, with no mortgage insurance; student loans in deferment or forbearance that are left out of the calculation while you are in residency or fellowship; and the chance to buy on a signed employment contract before the job starts.

Disclosure (draft, for counsel’s review). About “up to 100% financing”: for a qualifying borrower, the loan may cover up to the full value of a one-unit primary residence, so the down payment can be as little as none; the share the program will finance depends on the size of the loan and the borrower’s credit, and the lower of the purchase price and the appraised value governs. Terms of repayment: a fixed-rate loan is repaid in equal monthly payments of principal and interest over a term of fifteen to thirty years; an adjustable-rate loan is repaid over thirty years, with the rate fixed for the first five, seven or ten years and able to change after that, so the payment can rise. Property taxes and insurance are paid in addition, usually through an escrow account. Annual percentage rate: the statement required here is for the attorney to supply, together with the adjustable-rate statement that the rate and the annual percentage rate can increase after closing; Fidelity Residential does not state rates on this site. Not every applicant will be eligible. Terms are subject to change without notice.

Every loan is reviewed by an underwriter by hand, with full documentation of your income, assets and credit. The program is for the home you live in, bought or refinanced without taking cash out.

Who it suits

  • Residents, fellows and interns buying a first home during training
  • New attendings and associates with a signed contract for a position that starts after closing
  • Established doctors and dentists who would rather keep their savings than put them into a large down payment
  • Pharmacists, veterinarians, podiatrists, nurse anesthetists and nurse practitioners with the listed degrees

Not sure whether your degree is on the list? Ask a loan officer whether your degree qualifies. If you have a down payment, an ordinary fixed-rate or jumbo loan may also fit.

Doctor and dentist loans at a glance

  • What it is: a first mortgage for doctors, dentists and other listed medical professionals, including residents and fellows, on the home they live in.
  • What it does differently: little or no down payment with no mortgage insurance; deferred student loans left out during training; a signed contract for a job that starts after closing can count.
  • What it is for: a one-unit primary residence, bought or refinanced without cash out.
  • What it is not: a loan for a second home, a rental property or a cash-out refinance, or a no-document loan. Income, credit, assets and the home are all verified.
How it works

What the program does differently

An ordinary loan reads a resident’s file as a large debt and a small income. This program reads the career instead.

Student loans

Deferred loans are left out during training

Student loans that are deferred, in forbearance or on an income-based plan with no payment due are not counted against you while you are in residency or fellowship and the loan is based on that income. Once you are in practice, your student loan payments count as they would on any mortgage.

A job that has not started

Buy on a signed contract

You can buy on a signed employment contract for a position that starts after closing; the program allows a start date up to about five months after closing. You show savings to cover the payments until the first paycheck arrives.

Down payment

Little or no down payment, no mortgage insurance

The program is built so that the down payment is not the obstacle it is on an ordinary loan, and it charges no mortgage insurance at any level of financing. How much of the price it will finance depends on the size of the loan and your credit.

Loan size

Loan amounts well above the conforming limit

The program reaches well above the conforming loan limit, so a higher-priced home does not push you into a separate jumbo program with its own down payment rules.

Fixed or adjustable

A choice of terms

A fixed rate keeps principal and interest the same for the life of the loan, with a choice of term lengths. An adjustable rate is fixed for the first several years and then can change, so the payment can rise.

How adjustable rates work
Full documentation

Reviewed by an underwriter by hand

Every loan is reviewed by an underwriter, with full documentation of your degree, your income, your assets and your credit. It is not a no-document loan.

Requirements

Doctor loan requirements: what the program looks for

In words, without the figures: a loan officer can tell you where your file falls.

  • A listed degree, in practice or in training: at least one borrower whose income is used holds one of the listed degrees and is in active practice, residency, fellowship or internship
  • Up to 100% financing for qualifying medical professionals, with no mortgage insurance (see the disclosure below)
  • Deferred student loans during training: loans in deferment, in forbearance or on an income-based plan with no payment due are not counted while you are in residency or fellowship
  • Income from a job that has not started: a signed employment contract with a start date up to about five months after closing, and savings to cover the payments until then
  • A one-unit primary residence: a house, a planned-unit development home or a condominium in a project that meets the program’s rules
  • A purchase or a rate-and-term refinance: no cash-out refinance, second home or rental property
  • Credit: a credit score requirement applies, with a credit history of at least two years, and four years since any bankruptcy, foreclosure or short sale
  • Full documentation: every loan is reviewed by an underwriter by hand, with your income, assets and credit verified
  • Citizens, permanent residents and visa holders: permanent residents and visa holders with two years of US employment may be eligible, visa holders with a somewhat larger down payment

Disclosure (draft, for counsel’s review). About “up to 100% financing”: for a qualifying borrower, the loan may cover up to the full value of a one-unit primary residence, so the down payment can be as little as none; the share the program will finance depends on the size of the loan and the borrower’s credit, and the lower of the purchase price and the appraised value governs. Terms of repayment: a fixed-rate loan is repaid in equal monthly payments of principal and interest over a term of fifteen to thirty years; an adjustable-rate loan is repaid over thirty years, with the rate fixed for the first five, seven or ten years and able to change after that, so the payment can rise. Property taxes and insurance are paid in addition, usually through an escrow account. Annual percentage rate: the statement required here is for the attorney to supply, together with the adjustable-rate statement that the rate and the annual percentage rate can increase after closing; Fidelity Residential does not state rates on this site. Not every applicant will be eligible. Terms are subject to change without notice.

The steps

The steps to a doctor and dentist loan

  1. Talk about where you are in your career

    In training, starting a new position, or in practice; your degree; how your student loans are being repaid; and the home you have in mind.

  2. Apply and document

    Proof of your degree and licence or training status, pay stubs and W-2s or the signed employment contract, student loan statements, and statements for closing costs and savings.

  3. Appraisal

    The home is appraised in full. The program does not use appraisal waivers.

  4. Underwriting and closing

    An underwriter reviews the file by hand against the program’s rules. You review your closing disclosure and sign.

Documents

What documents you need

This is a fully documented loan. Most borrowers can start with these.

  • Proof of your degree and your licence, or a letter confirming your residency, fellowship or internship
  • Recent pay stubs and W-2 forms, or the signed employment contract or offer letter for a position that has not started, showing the title, start date and pay
  • Student loan statements showing deferment, forbearance or your income-based payment
  • Bank and investment statements for the closing costs, any down payment and the savings you keep after closing, including the months of payments before a later start date
  • Your signed purchase contract, once you have one
  • Photo identification, and proof of permanent residency or your visa if you are not a U.S. citizen
Questions

Common questions about doctor and dentist loans

Who counts as a medical professional for this loan?

Physicians (MD and DO), dentists (DDS and DMD), pharmacists, veterinarians, podiatrists, nurse anesthetists with a doctorate, nurse practitioners with a master’s or doctorate, and residents, fellows and interns who hold one of those degrees. At least one borrower whose income is used must hold the degree and be in practice or in training. If your degree is not listed, ask a loan officer whether it qualifies.

I am still in residency. Do my student loans count against me?

Student loans that are deferred, in forbearance or on an income-based plan with no payment due are not counted while you are in residency or a clinical fellowship and the loan is based on that income. Student loans with a payment due count as on any mortgage.

My new position starts after closing. Can I buy now?

Yes, on a signed employment contract or offer letter that states your title, start date and pay. The program allows a start date up to about five months after closing, as long as you can show savings to cover the payments until then.

How much do I need for a down payment?

Little or none, depending on the size of the loan and your credit, and the program charges no mortgage insurance. The requirements above carry the disclosure that goes with that statement; a loan officer can tell you where your file falls.

Can I use it for a second home, a rental property or a cash-out refinance?

No. The program is for a one-unit primary residence, bought or refinanced without taking cash out. For a second home or a rental, see our jumbo loans or investment property loans; for cash out, see the cash-out refinance page.

How large a loan can I get?

Loan amounts well above the conforming limit are available, so a higher-priced home does not push you into a separate jumbo program. A loan officer can tell you the ceiling for your credit and down payment.

Is the loan fixed or adjustable?

Either. A fixed rate keeps principal and interest the same for the life of the loan, with a choice of term lengths. An adjustable rate is fixed for the first several years and then can change, so the payment can rise. Your loan estimate shows how and when the rate can change.

What credit do I need?

A credit score requirement applies, with a credit history of at least two years. The program waits four years after a bankruptcy, foreclosure or short sale. Tell your loan officer the dates so the right program can be chosen.

I am not a U.S. citizen. Can I still use this loan?

Permanent residents and visa holders with two years of U.S. employment may be eligible; visa holders need a somewhat larger down payment. Everyone on the loan needs a Social Security number. Ask a loan officer whether your status fits.

Do you lend in my state?

Fidelity Residential is licensed in many states. The full, current list is on NMLS Consumer Access (opens in a new tab), or call us at 732-686-9999. Some program limits apply in particular states; a loan officer can tell you whether one affects you.

Ready to talk about a doctor and dentist loan?

Get a quote, apply online, or talk it through with a licensed loan officer.

This page is general information, not a commitment to lend. Programs, terms and eligibility depend on credit, income, property and underwriting review and are subject to change without notice.

Last reviewed: